Minutes of 20th Annual General Meeting

June 14, 2008



Home of Juventinus (Casey) and Virginia Thampoe.


Juventinus Thampoe (President), Julian Fernando (Vice President), Neil De Votta (Secretary),Luke De Silva
(Treasurer), Chitra Benedict, Rajika Mallawaaratchy,Ranjit Swaris,Joe Bonjean Thampoe and G.Yogarjah.


The meeting began with an opening prayer by Bonjean Thampoe.

The adoption of minutes was proposed by Luke De Silva and seconded by G.Yogarajah.

Arising out of Minutes:- Casey is yet to request payment for the $100,00 paid towards Tamil Literary Union last year;
no action was taken on the Edward Benedict Scholarship;
Ashan Benedict was not officially invited to join the association and the new Secretary would invite him do so;
Yoga did not receive any Ben News despite a number of members having paid for it.Ranjit has been receiving multiple copies (which he has been mailing out to various people),and it is possible Felix Dias thinks these are the copies we have paid him for.

Treasurer’s Report:

Casey proposed adoption of the report and Ranjit seconded the motion.

Other Business:

A minute's silence was observed in memory of Fr,Flavian Wilathgamuwa.

Julian agreed to look into the possibility of hosting a dance in Staten Island sometime in October and use the occasion to try and get younger Bens residing in the area to get involved in the association.The feeling was that this would be a good way to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the association.Casey read his account from BenedictineMemoirs describing the association's formation.

Dean Merriman of Manhattan College had called Casey saying he wanted to send a Basketball Coach to St.Benedict's (and perhaps some other Schools in Sri Lanka) but a bomb blast in Colombo the next day understandably caused him to change his mind.

There was some discussion dealing with Fr.Flavian.Many who were at St.Benedict's when he was Director recalled his flamboyance and stern discipline. Casey read President Mahinda Rajapaksa's tribute to Fr.Flavian Wilathgamuwa.

Election of Office Bearers:

Casey proposed a list of new office bearers. Neil declined to accept position as President as he is scheduled to be out of the country for most of the next year. Rajika gamelyvolunteered to be Treasurer.Consequently,the office bearers elected for the next year is as follows:->

President:- Julian Fernando.

Vice President:- Anton Anandappa.

Secretary:- Joe Bonjean Thampoe.

Treasurer:- Rajika Mallawaaratchy.

In addition, Mr.G.Yogarajah was appointed Auditor.

Vote of Thanks:

Luke proposed a vote of Thanks for Casey and Virginia for being such gracious hosts. Ranjit seconded the motion.

The meeting adjourned for drinks and dinner.